MECHANICAL ENGINEERING

This is the department which is supposed to drive the earth, indeed this is the department associated with the design of locomotives, vehicles, aeroplanes, satellites, power stations, cranes, refrigeration plants and life saving devices etc.
This department consists of various labs like Basic Mechanical Engineering, Engineering & Machine Drawing, Thermodynamics, Fluid Mechanics, Theory of Machines, Heat transfer, Mechatronics, Metrology & Quality Control etc.
This department practices various lab innovations, inplant training and industry sponsored mini-projects for students

Vision

To create good quality Mechanical Engineers who are innovative, entrepreneurial and successful in new technologies in the field of Mechanical Engineering to fulfil expectations of industry and society.

Mission

  • To impart advanced knowledge to the students in the field of Mechanical Engineering which will be helpful to enhance their technical skills and to make them competitive.
  • To create an academic environment for the students which will be helpful to excel in their career along with professional ethics and inculcating attitude of continuous learning.
  • To develop culture of research by providing new advanced facilities which will stimulate faculty, staff and students to collaborate with each other for creating, analysing and disseminating knowledge.
  • To maintain interaction with industries, educational institutions, R&D organizations and alumni for capacity building of staff and students and to develop research attitude.

Program Educational Objectives (PEOs)

  1. To make students competent for professional career in Mechanical & allied fields.
  2. To build strong fundamental knowledge amongst student to pursue higher education and continue professional development in Mechanical & other fields.
  3. To imbibe professional ethics, develop team spirit and effective communication skills to be successful leaders and managers with a holistic approach.
  4. To nurture students to be sensitive to ethical, societal & environmental issues while conducting their professional work.

Program Outcomes(PO)

  1. Engineering knowledge: Apply the knowledge of mathematics, science, engineering fundamentals, and an engineering specialization to the solution of complex engineering problems.
  2. Problem analysis: Identify, formulate, review research literature, and analyze complex engineering problems reaching substantiated conclusions using first principles of mathematics, natural sciences, and engineering sciences.
  3. Design/development of solutions: Design solutions for complex engineering problems and design system components or processes that meet the specified needs with appropriate consideration for the public health and safety, and the cultural, societal, and environmental considerations.
  4. Conduct investigations of complex problems: Use research-based knowledge and research methods including design of experiments, analysis and interpretation of data, and synthesis of the information to provide valid conclusions.
  5. Modern tool usage: Create, select, and apply appropriate techniques, resources, and modern engineering and IT tools including prediction and modeling to complex engineering activities with an understanding of the limitations.
  6. The engineer and society: Apply reasoning informed by the contextual knowledge to assess societal, health, safety, legal and cultural issues.
  7. Environment and sustainability: Understand the impact of the professional engineering solutions in societal and environmental contexts, and demonstrate the knowledge of, and need for sustainable development.
  8. Ethics: Apply ethical principles and commit to professional ethics and responsibilities and norms of the engineering practice.
  9. Individual and team work: Function effectively as an individual, and as a member or leader in diverse teams, and in multidisciplinary settings.
  10. Communication: Communicate effectively on complex engineering activities with the engineering community and with society at large, such as, being able to comprehend and write effective reports and design documentation, make effective presentations, and give and receive clear instructions
  11. Project management and finance: Demonstrate knowledge and understanding of the engineering and management principles and apply these to one’s own work, as a member and leader in a team, to manage projects and in multidisciplinary environments.
  12. Life-long learning: Recognize the need for, and have the preparation and ability to engage student and life-long learning in the broadest context of technological change.

Sr.No Name of Faculty Designation Qualification Experience In Yrs. E-mail-ID
1 Dr. Vyavahare Ravindra Tatyasaheb Professor & HOD M.E. (Mech. Design),Ph.D 16 ravindra.vyavahare@sknscoe.ac.in
2 Dr. Pradeep V. Jadhav Professor Ph.D. 14 pradeep.jadhav@sknscoe.ac.in
3 Mr. Kulkarni Sham Shridharao Associate Professor M.E. (Mech.Design) ,Ph.D Pursuing 13.5 sham.kulkarni@sknscoe.ac.in
4 Dr. Kulkarni Swanand Gajanan Associate Professor M.E.(Design),Ph.D(Composite Material) 14 swanand.kulkarni@sknscoe.ac.in
5 Mr. Kateker Sameer Dattatray Assistant Professor M.E. (Design Engg,),Ph.D Pursuing 14.5 sameer.katekar@sknscoe.ac.in
6 Mr. Kulkarni Milind Balbhim Assistant Professor M.E.(Heat Power) ,Ph.D Pursuing 14 milind.kulkarni@sknscoe.ac.in
7 Mr. Phule Nandkishor Laxman Assistant Professor M.E.(Heat Power),Ph.D Pursuing 12 nandkishor.phule@sknscoe.ac.in
8 Mr. Sonawane Sachin Ashok Assistant Professor M.E.(Design)Ph.D Pursuing 13 sachin.sonawane@sknscoe.ac.in
9 Mr. Gandhare Balasaheb Shahaji Assistant Professor M.E Mech.(Triobology And Maintenance),Ph.D Pursuing 11 balasaheb.gandhare@sknscoe.ac.in
10 Mr. Aradhye Atul Shripad Assistant Professor M.E.(Mech.Design),Ph.D Pursuing 13 atul.aradhye@sknscoe.ac.in
11 Mr. Koli Somnath Rajaram Assistant Professor M.E. (Automobile),Ph.D Pursuing 16 somnath.koli@sknscoe.ac.in
12 Mr. Giram Dhananjay Ram Assistant Professor M.E.(Heat Power) 13.5 dhananjay.giram@sknscoe.ac.in
13 Mr. Kulkarni Hrishikesh Sudhir Assistant Professor M.E.(Heat Power) 6.5 hrishikesh.kulkarni@sknscoe.ac.in
14 Mr. Chavan Sachin Madhukarrao Assistant Professor M.E. (Design) 7 sachi.chavan@sknscoe.ac.in
15 Mr. Kulkarni Prasad Padmakar Assistant Professor M.E. (Design) 7 prasad.kulkarni@sknscoe.ac.in
16 Mr. Pathak Sumedh Sunitrao Assistant Professor M.E. (Manufacturing) 12 sumedh.pathak@sknscoe.ac.in
17 Mr. Gholap Umesh Suresh Assistant Professor M.E. (Design Engg.) 5.5 umesh.gholap@sknscoe.ac.in
18 Mr. Bansode Santosh Ankush Assistant Professor M.Tech.(Machine Design) 4 santosh.bansode@sknscoe.ac.in
19 Mr. Jadhav Anil Dadaso Assistant Professor M.Tech. (Energy) 8.5 anil.jadhav@sknscoe.ac.in
20 Mr. Nagane Shrikant Saibaba Assistant Professor M.E. (Design) 4.5 shrikant.nagane@sknscoe.ac.in
21 Mr. Kulkarni Atul Suresh Assistant Professor M.E. (Design) 5 atul.kulkarni@sknscoe.ac.in
22 Mr. Admile Bharat Sushen Assistant Professor M.E. (Design) 5 bharat.admile@sknscoe.ac.in
23 Mr. Katkar Mahendrakumar Madhukar Assistant Professor M.E. (Design) 4 mahendrakumar.katkar@sknscoe.ac.in
24 Mr. Deshpande Hrishikesh Shirish Assistant Professor M.E. (Design) 5 hrishikesh.deshpande@sknscoe.ac.in
25 Mr. Shinde Yogesh Dnyandeo Assistant Professor M.E. (Design) 3 yogesh.shinde@sknscoe.ac.in
26 Mr. Shinde Rahul Keshavrao Assistant Professor M.E. (Heat Power) 6.5 rahul.shinde@sknscoe.ac.in
27 Mr. Dhokate Rushikesh Vijaykumar Assistant Professor M.E. (Design Engg.) 4.5 rushikesh.dhokate@sknscoe.ac.in
28 Mr. Mali Samadhan Changdev Assistant Professor M.E. (Design) 3 samadhan.mali@sknscoe.ac.in
29 Mr. Bhadule Amit Ashok Assistant Professor M.E. (Automobile Engg.) 13 amit.bhadule@sknscoe.ac.in
30 Mr. Tamboli Mohasin Dastagir Assistant Professor M.E. (Heat Power) 4 mohasin.tamboli@sknscoe.ac.in
31 Mr. Shivgunde Bhushan Mukund Assistant Professor M.E. (Mechatronics) 1 bhushan.shivgunde@sknscoe.ac.in
32 Mr. Navale Dadasaheb Vithoba Assistant Professor M.A. M.P.Ed. 13 dadasaheb.navale@sknscoe.ac.in
33 Mr. Joshi Mahesh Dadaso Assistant Professor M.E. (Heat Power) 2 mahesh.joshi@sknscoe.ac.in
34 Mr. Pawar Chandrakant Channappa Assistant Professor M.E. (Design) 4 chandrakant.pawar@sknscoe.ac.in
35 Mr. Bole Sachin Balasaheb Assistant Professor M.Tech (Manufacturing) 10 sachin.bole@sknscoe.ac.in
36 Mr. Pirjade Imranhusen Nasirhusen Assistant Professor M.E. (Design) 1 imranhusen.pirjade@sknscoe.ac.in
37 Mr. Inamdar Gururaj Kumar Assistant Professor M.E. (Design) Appearing 1 gururaj.inamdar@sknscoe.ac.in
38 Mr. Maharnavar Sarjerao Bira Assistant Professor M.E. (Design Engg.) Appearing 1 sarjerao.maharnavar@sknscoe.ac.in
39 Mr. Gaikwad Ajinkya Pundalik Assistant Professor M.E. (Design) Appearing 1 ajinkya.gaikwad@sknscoe.ac.in
40 Mr. Dagade Pandurang Chandrakant Assistant Professor M.E. (Design) 5 pandurang.dagade@sknscoe.ac.in
41 Mr. Thigale Onkar Nandkumar Assistant Professor M.E. (Thermal) 6 onkar.thigale@sknscoe.ac.in
42 Mr. Shamshuddin V. Shaikh Assistant Professor M. Sc. B. Ed. ( Physics ) 3 shamshunddin.shaikh@sknscoe.ac.in
43 Mr. Kondi Shivaprasad B. Assistant Professor M.Sc. B. Ed.( Science, Maths ) 3 shivprasad.kondi@sknscoe.ac.in
44 Ms. Karande Vidya Hariba Assistant Professor M.Sc 3 vidya.karande@sknscoe.ac.in
45 Mrs. Pathan Nasrin Mahamud Assistant Professor M.Sc. B. Ed. 3 nasrin.pathan@sknscoe.ac.in
46 Mr. Gore Jayant Shankarrao Assistant Professor M.Sc. (Physics) 7 jayant.gore@sknscoe.ac.in
47 Mr. Patil Vinayak Vitthal Assistant Professor MCA 4 vinayak.patil@sknscoe.ac.in
48 Mr. Borate Rahul Eknath Assistant Professor MCA 2 rahul.borate@sknscoe.ac.in
49 Mr. Waghmare Digambar Bhaurao Assistant Professor M.Lib.I.Sc, M.Phil. NET,SET, Ph.D.Pursuing 10 digambar.waghmare@sknscoe.ac.in
50 Ms. More Veena Bapusaheb Assistant Professor BCA 2
51 Mr. Rajeshkumar U. More Assistant Professor M.E. Design 12 rajesh.more@sknscoe.ac.in
52 Mr. Pramod audumbar Jadhav Assistant Professor M. Tech.(Thermal) 5 pramod.jadhav@sknscoe.ac.in
53 Mr. Anand Muniappa Shete Assistant Professor M.E. Design 12 anand.shete@sknscoe.ac.in
54 Mr. Jaywant Prabhakar Pawar Assistant Professor M.E. Design 11 jaywant.pawar@sknscoe.ac.in
55 Mr. Mahesh Keshavrao Sawant Assistant Professor M.E. Design 13 mahesh.sawant@sknscoe.ac.in

Theory of Machine (TOM)

This lab consists of different experimental kits and models related to the vibration, gear design, gyroscope.

Major Equipments in Lab

  • Universal Vibration Apparatus

CAD / CAM

This lab consists of 26 PC with CATIA, ANSYS, AUTO-CAD software.

Major Equipments in Lab

  • CATIA V6-Discover pack

Fluid Machinery & Fluid Power (FMFP)

This lab consists of different experimental kits related to the Fluid Machinery & Fluid Power.

Major Equipments in Lab

  • Pelton wheel of 1KW capacity with 5HP pump

Applied Thermodynamics (ATD)

This lab consists of different experimental kits related to the Applied Thermodynamics

Major Equipments in Lab

  • Critical heat flux apparatus

Heat & Mass Transfer (HMT)

This lab consists of different experimental kits related to the Refrigeration & Air Conditioning.

Major Equipments in Lab

  • Pin fin apparatus

Refrigeration & Air Conditioning (RAC)

This lab consists of different experimental kits related to the Refrigeration & Air Conditioning.

Major Equipments in Lab

  • Air conditioning trainer

Computer Programming Lab

Major events/ assignments conducted in laboratory Hand on experience of mechanical engineering softwares

Major Equipments in Lab

  • E-journals
  • CATIA
  • ANSYS
  • AUTO-CAD software
  • E-journals

Automatic Control Engineering (ACE)

Major Equipments in Lab

  • PID Controller

Metallurgy

Major Equipments in Lab

  • Muffle furnace

Metrology & Mechanical Measurement (MMM)

Major Equipments in Lab

  • Profile projector

I.C.Engine

Major Equipments in Lab

  • VCR Engine test set up

Automobile Engineering

Major Equipments in Lab

  • Working model for demonstration of chasis cut section of Maruti van

Manufacturing Processes (MP)

Major Equipments in Lab

  • Sand Muller

Power Plant and Energy Engineering(PPE)

Major Equipments in Lab

  • Solar water heater set up

Experimental stress Analysis (ESA)

Major Equipments in Lab

  • 12” Diffused light polariscope

Project LAB

Major Equipments in Lab

  • Mini projects of Third year students

Workshop

Major Equipments in Lab

  • Vertical Drilling Machine.

MECHANICAL ENGINEERING STUDENTS’ ASSOCIATION(MESA)

Formation of MESA

MESA was inaugurated on 31st March 2012. It aims to play a pivotal role in the development of students as engineers by various curricular and extra-curricular activities. It inculcates among its members an awareness and appreciation of not just Mechanical Engineering but also other various disciplines and relevant fields. The work in Mechanical Engineering sector ranges from simple mechanism to hedge turbines, advanced automobile developments, etc. A Mechanical engineer is responsible for designing and innovating in various sectors such as Automobile, Thermal, Mechanical Design, Product Design, Manufacturing Processes, Sugar Industries etc.

Objectives of MESA

  • To Encourage and motivate the outside class room studies ,work shops, Projects, Technical activities, Seminars, etc.
  • To provide platform for overall personality of the students.
  • To create awareness in students for organizing and participating different technical events.
  • To plan, organize Technical Programs, Special Lectures, Workshops, Seminars, exhibitions for the benefit of students
  • To provide common platform for students for exchange of ideas in technical topics of interest. e.g., curriculum, technical activities, higher educational opportunities, emerging trends, etc.

ORGANISING COMMITTEE

Sr.NO Designation Class of Student Name
1 President BE (Mech) Abhinav Shelar
2 Vice President BE (Mech) Suraj Shinde
3 Secretary TE (Mech) Shivganesh Dombe
4 Treasurer TE (Mech) Shubham Dhobale
5 Faculty Adviser -- Prof. H. S. Deshpande
6 Co-ordinator -- Prof. M. D. Joshi

Activities Conducted By MESA

faculty Achievements

Sr.No Name of Faculty Details of Awards / Recognitions Organization
1 Dr. R. T. Vyavahare Selected as reviewer for reputed journals like Elsevier and Inderscience Elsevier and Inderscience Editorial Board
2 Mr. S. S. Kulkarni Selected as reviewer for Hindawi Publication Hindawi Publication Corporation
3 Dr. R. T. Vyavahare Completed Ph.D. in Ergonomic Considerations in Machine Design Solapur University, Solapur
4 Dr. R. T. Vyavahare Selected as reviewer for International Journal of Industrial and Systems Engineering (IJRSE) International Journal of Industrial and Systems Engineering (IJRSE)
5 Mr. A. S. Aradhye Faculty Advisor For ISIE RPM International Racing Circuit, Bhopal
6 Mr. S. D. Katekar Faculty Advisor For ISIE Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh
7 Mr. A. S. Kulkarni
Mr. R. K. Shinde
Mr. R.K.Shinde
Mr. S.M. Chavan
Mr. A.D.Jadhav
Involved in Staff-Exchange Program Sinhgad Technical Education Society, Rwanda, Kigali Campus
8 Dr. S. G. Kulkarni Completed Ph.D. in Processing characterisation and modeling of alumina fly ash and hybrid reinforcement in A356 matrix composite NIT, Surat
9 Mr. B. S. Gandhare Selected as reviewer for International Journal of Industrial Engineering: Theory, Applications and Practice. International Journal of Industrial Engineering (IJIE)
1 Mr. M. B. Kulkarni System and method for biogas generation Application No. 2834/MUM/2015 Dated 21/12/2015

Student Achievements

GATE Qualified Faculty

Sr.No Name of Faculty Year
1 Dr. R. T. Vyavahare 2000, 2002
2 Mr.S.A.Sonawane 2002
3 Mr. B. S. Gandhare 2001
4 Mr. S. A. Bansode 2011,2012,2016, 2017
5 Mr. Y. D. Shinde 2012
6 Mr. N. L. Phule 2017

Students Received Fellowship

Sr.NO Year Name of Student University Country
1 2014-15 Nawale Parijat Technical University, Sofiya Bulgeria
2 2014-15 Shrishrimal Vishal Technical University, Sofiya Bulgeria
3 2014-15 Matnale Vishal Technical University, Sofiya Bulgeria
4 2015-16 Keshwani Mitesh Technical University, Sofiya Bulgeria
5 2015-16 Fattepurkar Ankit Ural Federal University Russia
6 2016-17 Lavate Akshay Technical University, Sofiya Bulgeria
7 2016-17 Doshi Shubham Technical University, Sofiya Bulgeria
8 2016-17 Ghotage Chaitnya Technical University, Sofiya Bulgeria
9 2016-17 Kulkarni Tushar Technical University, Sofiya Bulgeria

University Rankers

Sr.No Year Name of Student Class % Marks University Rank
1 2014-15 Doke Hari SE 80.75 4
2 2014-15 Shrishrimal Vishal SE 80.63 1
3 2014-15 Bhosale Dhanaji SE 78.93 5
4 2015-16 Jagtap Ashwini SE 84.5 2
5 2015-16 Patil Shubham SE 83.13 5

Publications

Books Publications

Sr.NO Author Name of Book ISBN Number Publisher
1 Mr. S. S. Nagane Vibration Analysis of Rolling Element Bearing with Unbalanced Rotor 978-3-659-97001-6 LAMBERT Academic Publishing,Germany
2 Mr. R. V. Dhokate Dynamic Analysis of Rotating Shaft Subjected to Slant Crack. 978-3-659-77677-9 LAMBERT Academic Publishing,Germany
3 Mr. M. D. Tamboli Localized Cooling. 978-3-330-00664-5 LAMBERT Academic Publishing,Germany
4 Mr. A. D. Jadhav Solar AC system 978-1-365-61302-9 LULU Publishing
5 Mr. S. C. Mali
Dr. R. T. Vyavahare
Ergonomics 978-1-365-61494-1 LULU Publishing
6 Mr. U. S. Gholap CAD/CAM 978-3-330-02393-2 LAMBERT Academic Publishing,Germany
7 Mr. Y. D. Shinde Modal Vibration Analysis 978-1-365-61488-0 LAMBERT Academic Publishing,Germany
8 Mr. R. K. Shinde
Prof S. R. Koli
Effect of Exhaust gas Recirculation with Soya oil & its blends on Diesel Engine. 978-1-365-61487-3 LULU Publishing
9 Mr. S.S. Nagane Vibration Analysis 978-1-365-60705-9 LULU Publishing
10 Mr. C.C. Pawar Effect on Strength of Involute Spur Gear Tooth by Considering Uncertainties in Geometry and Material Properties by using FEM 978-1-365-85660-0 LULU Publishing
11 Dr. S.G. Kulkarni
Mr. S. R. Koli
Design and Analysis of Diffuser Augmented Wind Turbine 978-620-2-01265-2 LAMBERT Academic Publishing, Germany